Message Boards

You are here: Message Boards > Topics > Research Resources > Genealogical Scams > ancestorstuff.com ?
Names or Keywords
All Boards   Genealogical Scams - Family History & Genealogy Message Board

ancestorstuff.com ?

Sort

ancestorstuff.com ?

exevans  (View posts) Posted: 13 May 2009 1:56PM GMT
Classification: Query
Is anyone else getting spam e-mails from ancestorstuff.com? I do NOT recall giving them my e-mail address. Yet I am receiving e-mails from info@ancestorstuff.com, news5@ancestorstuff.com to several of my e-mail addresses that I use on online message boards, etc.

Just searching for "ancestorstuff" on all Rootsweb message boards, it seems all my "hits" are for legitimate genealogy purposes.

I wonder if someone else has hijacked ancestorstuff's e-mail? Or are they just aggressively marketing, using e-mail addresses posted on other genealogy websites? Have any other websites given them my e-mail address?

Re: ancestorstuff.com ?

tmorrisnh  (View posts) Posted: 16 Jun 2009 8:23PM GMT
Classification: Query
I just started getting these too. They're definitely spam. If you search a little bit further, you'll find messages going back to at least 2004 which indicate that this is standard modus operandi for this web site.

Apparently the owner of the web site believes spam is good business, so anyone who buys from him/her is just going to encourage more spam.

I'm not going to unsubscribe (thus confirming my address), since I never subscribed. Instead when each message arrives, I mark it as spam. If everyone using Gmail (or any other spam reporting aggreggration service) does this, pretty soon they won't be able to spam anyone.

May they burn for all eternity!

Re: ancestorstuff.com ?

frogy|MA518398  (View posts) Posted: 12 Jul 2009 4:12AM GMT
Classification: Query
I just received a spam from them. I did NOT subscribe to their newsletter. They are harvesting genealogists' email addresses. Note that their email is a negative, not positive, confirmation like legitimate businesses. They send their letter unless you UNsubscribe. I forward this spam - with email headers displayed - to their ISP, currently abuse@datapipe.com

Find a Board

Page Tools