Search for content in message boards

Longshot: hit a wall b/c of confusing records.

Replies: 2

Longshot: hit a wall b/c of confusing records.

Posted: 1525476178000
Classification: Query
Surnames: Lee, Shipman
I know this is a longshot, but I am looking for any information anyone could give me regarding my Lee branch of my family tree.

I am an extreme novice when it comes to this amateur genealogy and it seems as though my ancestors liked to go by multiple names. Additionally, the myth of our familial origins seem to be wildly inaccurate.

The story was that my oldest ancestor was named George Lee and he was orphaned during the Johnstown Flood in Pennsylvania and adopted by a family with the surname Lee. So, I figured I would find whatever I could, piece it together, and possibly get lucky... The thing is, though, that story seems to be false.

Now, what I do know:
My grandfather was Eugene Owen Lee (b. 1940 in Kern County, California - d. 2015 Mulege, Baja, Mexico)

His father was Pete E Lee (b. 1915 in Fort Sumner, New Mexico - d. 2002 Yarnell, Arizona) and married to Martha E Bewley

Now, using census records, military records, and directories, both Pete's generation and the generation prior seem to use a variety of names, and to add to the confusion, they seemed to move around quite a bit at the turn of the century.

Depending on the record, Pete's name was a variation of Pete Eugene Benson Lee on each document. His siblings also seemed to have their names changed throughout the records as well.

Pete's siblings were: Merle (b. 1926 in Idaho, but that is all that I have found), Henry (b. 1910 in Texas d. ??? - guessing California), Bertha (b. 1911 in Texas, d. 2003 San Bernadino, California), and Belva (b. 1908 in Texas, d. 2003 Visalia, California)